Monday, February 22, 2010

Azizul's efforts earn sportswriters' award

CYCLIST Azizul Hasni Awang's brilliant performance last year was duly recognised as he was named the Sportswriters Association of Malaysia (SAM)-100Plus 2009 Athlete of the Year in Petaling Jaya yesterday.
Azizul, who won the 200m sprint silver medal in the World Championships in Poland and keirin gold in the World Cup IV in Beijing last year, overcame stiff competition from shuttler Lee Chong Wei and four-time world squash champion Nicol David to secure the award.

Azizul, who was unable to attend the ceremony due to his preparation for next month's World Championships in Copenhagen and to focus on his studies, was elated with the win.

His mother Selamiah Yong received the award and RM10,000 on behalf of Azizul from Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin.

"I've never won this award before and it is a timely boost for my campaign in the World Championships in Copenhagen," stated Azizul via telephone from Melbourne yesterday.

"Last year, I was only nominated and it is actually a shock to win the award this time. I would like to thank all quarters for the support I have and I am hoping to go for gold in the World Championships."

Besides Chong Wei, who won the award last year, and Nicol, swimmer Daniel Bego -- winner of five gold in the Laos Sea Games, divers Pendelela Rinong-Leong Mun Yee -- who won the synchronised 10m platform bronze in the World Championships, and the national women's badminton team -- who won the Sea Games gold for the first time in 30 years, were the other nominees.

The national Under-23 football team also won a special award for capturing the Sea Games gold after 20 years.

Timesport's Ajitpal Singh walked away with the best news commentary award which fetched him RM3,000 .

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Azizulhasni @ youtube